grief therapy can help youLosing a loved one is one of the most difficult experiences in life we will encounter. Whether you have lost a spouse, a parent, a child, a grandparent, another family member, or even a close friend, grief can feel unbearable at times. Because grieving is a process, there is no quick cure. Grief therapy is an important part of the grieving process giving you the support and coping skills necessary for a healthy recovery through your grief.

Stages of Grief

Elisabeth Kubler-Ross, a psychiatrist born in Switzerland, outlined the five psychological stages of death in her book “On Death and Dying” published in 1969. She described the five stages of grief as follows:

  1. Denial – “This isn’t happening.”
  2. Anger – “Why is this happening?”
  3. Bargaining – “If you change this, then I’ll…”
  4. Depression – “Too sad to function.”
  5. Acceptance – “I have found peace with this.”

It is important to note that not everyone will go through each of the above stages, nor will the emotions be experienced in any particular order. They are all normal emotions to experience when dealing with the loss of a loved one. However, if you find that any of these emotions are hindering your performance at work, interfering with your family life or social circle, (i.e. you find yourself withdrawing from those around you and isolating yourself), affecting your sleep and/or eating habits, grief therapy should be the next step for you.

Grief Therapy with the Garrett Team

Grief therapy is beneficial for anyone experiencing any level of grief, not just for those encountering life-altering grieving patterns. Our compassionate and experienced counselors at Garrett Counseling are available in three locations: Jacksonville, Albertville/Boaz, and Huntsville. Let us help you cope with the loss of your loved one. Contact us today at (256) 239-5662 and let our amazing team help you through this difficult time.